QUESTIONS

Frequently Asked Questions

Everything about Ambassador and Fellowship membership, the Review Panel, and the Certificate Program — in one place. Still stuck? Write to support@theaiite.org.

General Questions

Do I need to be an Ambassador before applying for Fellowship?

No. The grades are independent. You may join as an Ambassador, apply directly for Fellowship, or pursue both.

What does AIITE membership cost?

Ambassador membership has no fee. Fellowship carries a $199 assessment fee, which funds the independent panel's review time regardless of outcome.

What evidence is required for Fellowship?

You must provide substantial, independently verifiable achievement in four out of seven categories: Innovation and Adoption, Leadership and Responsibility, Research and Knowledge Advancement, Peer Review and Professional Service, Professional Recognition, Organizational or Industry Impact, and Mentorship and Development.

Is membership open internationally?

Yes. Ambassador and Fellowship applications are open to qualified professionals worldwide.

What can Ambassadors do in a Council?

Ambassadors can take part in Council activities and events, contribute to knowledge-sharing, and mentor through AIITE programs. Formal Council membership and chair roles are held by Fellows.

Is AIITE accredited or affiliated with any body?

No. AIITE is a professional membership institute.

What happens to my $199 if I'm not successful?

You may provide additional evidence and request reconsideration by a newly constituted panel at a 50% discounted fee of $99.

How many Fellows will you have? Is there a limit?

We aim to keep Fellow status rare: about top 5% of members are likely to be selected as Fellows, so it stays a genuine mark of distinction rather than a default tier.

Who runs AIITE, and who decides Fellowship?

Two different groups, deliberately. The Institute's officers set strategy, appoint reviewers, and maintain the published standard — and hold no vote on any individual application. Fellowship is determined solely by the independent Review Panel. The separation is written into the Bylaws rather than left to good intentions.

How long does an application take?

Ambassador applications receive a confirmation within 1-2 days. Fellowship review typically takes 1-2 weeks from submission, depending on where your application falls in the review cycle. Both outcomes are sent by email.

Is AIITE a degree, a license, or a certification?

None of those. AIITE is a professional membership institute. Fellowship is a peer-assessed recognition of a record you already hold — it does not qualify you to practice, it is not awarded by examination, and it does not replace a degree, a license, or a vendor certification.

How do you ensure recognition is based on merit, not payment?

Three safeguards: fees pay only for review, not outcomes; reviewers are outcome-independent and must recuse for conflicts; and the Bylaws prohibit any paid grade above or alongside Fellow.

What do I actually get as an Ambassador?

A verified Ambassador profile and badge, invitations to Council activities and events, and access to mentoring and knowledge-sharing programs as they are convened. Ambassador membership carries no fee. It is a participation grade, not a credential — it confers no post-nominal and no standing in the Fellowship process.

Can I use FAIITE after my name straight away?

Only once Fellowship has been conferred. The post-nominal belongs to the Fellow grade alone. Ambassadors, applicants, and reviewers may not use it, and use of the designation stops if Fellow status is revoked.

What happens to the material I submit?

Fellowship evidence is shared only with the specific panel assigned to your review, and reviewers are bound to confidentiality over applicant materials. Nothing you submit is published without your consent. The Privacy Policy sets out retention and your rights in full.

Can I apply if I'm early in my career?

Ambassador membership is open to practicing professionals at any career stage. Fellowship carries no minimum years of experience — it is based solely on independently verifiable achievement across four of seven categories. Apply once you have that evidence, whatever stage of your career it comes from.

How do I resign or cancel?

Either grade may be resigned at any time by writing to support@theaiite.org. Fees already paid are not refunded on resignation.

Where is AIITE based, and how do I contact a person?

AIITE is incorporated in the United States and administered from Raleigh, North Carolina. Membership in both grades is open worldwide and the evidence assessed comes from everywhere. For anything not answered here, write to support@theaiite.org.

Fellowship Questions

What's the difference between an Ambassador and a Fellow?

Ambassador is AIITE's active membership grade, carrying no fee and earned through professional relevance, commitment, and service to the community. Fellow is a selective credential conferred by the independent Review Panel on applicants who meet the published evidence standard for outstanding, sustained achievement. The grades are independent: you do not need to be an Ambassador to apply, and Ambassador status confers no eligibility, preference, or presumption of approval in the Fellowship process.

Do I need to already be an AIITE member to apply?

No. You can apply for Fellowship by self-nomination or nomination by an existing Ambassador, regardless of your current membership status.

What if my application is unsuccessful?

You may provide additional evidence and request one reconsideration by a newly constituted panel at a 50% discounted fee of $99.

Can I reapply later?

Yes. There's no restriction on submitting a new application in a future cycle once you have additional evidence to present. Because each email address carries one application record, email support@theaiite.org and we will open the new cycle's application for you.

Who reviews my application?

A panel of five reviewers, bound by disclosure and recusal rules. Never the people who run the Institute. Each holds one vote, and conferral requires at least three of the five to approve.

Can I see who reviewed my application?

Yes, once Fellowship is conferred. Your conferral letter names all five reviewers who reviewed you — name, title, and organization, with a link to their LinkedIn profile — and states the vote your application carried, whether that was 5–0, 4–1, or 3–2. You know exactly who made the determination, and how close it was. Names are not disclosed while a review is open, and they are not disclosed on a decline: a reviewer who has to say no needs to be able to do that on the evidence alone. In every case the full roster is published before the cycle opens, so you know the pool your reviewers were drawn from.

Can I object to a specific reviewer reviewing my work?

The safeguard runs the other way: reviewers are required to disclose any relationship with you and recuse themselves, and assignments are not published in advance, so neither side can select the other. If you believe a specific conflict exists, raise it with support@theaiite.org before you submit rather than after a determination.

Is there an appeal process?

Yes, in the limited form of the one reconsideration described above.

How do I choose which four categories to use?

Choose the four where your evidence is strongest and most independently verifiable, not the four that sound most impressive. Each criterion must use a different category, and the Panel assesses the quality of what you document rather than the number of categories you touch. A strong record in four beats a thin one in seven.

How much evidence is enough?

For each category, structure your evidence with SOAR — Situation, Opportunity, Action, Results & Recognition — roughly 440 words combined, and most applications turn on the quality of the evidence rather than its volume. Show solid evidence of significant work you did personally, generally within the last five years. A link is not evidence merely because it exists: say what specific claim it supports and where. What the Panel looks for is corroboration outside your own account: a citation, a named adoption, a published record, a third party who can confirm it. An unsupported claim of impact carries very little weight however well written.

Does my job title or seniority count?

Not on its own. The published standard says so explicitly: a senior title, the number of people reporting to you, or years of service do not by themselves establish Fellowship. What counts is what changed because of your work, and whether that change can be verified by someone with no stake in your application.

What if the work was a team effort?

Most technical work is. Say plainly what your specific contribution was and let the endorsers corroborate it. Impact attributable to an organization or a team, without identifying your particular role in it, is listed in the standard as Insufficient by itself — not because collaboration is discounted, but because the Panel is assessing you.

Can I submit confidential or NDA-covered work?

Only what you are free to disclose. Do not submit anything covered by an obligation you owe someone else. Where the detail is restricted, describe the outcome at a level you are permitted to share and use a endorser who is entitled to confirm it from the inside — the standard is verifiability, and a credible witness can supply that where a document cannot. You can also redact sensitive information in a document, but the Panel must be able to verify the claim independently of your own account, either based on endorsers' statements or on a published record.

Who can act as an endorser, and who can't?

You need two, in different roles: a Professional Relationship endorser with direct, first-hand knowledge of your work, and an Independent Expert endorser outside your current employer who can assess the significance of what you did. Neither may be a subordinate, a close relative, a paid application preparer, or anyone receiving a referral benefit. You upload a signed statement from each as part of your application, and AIITE may also contact either endorser directly to confirm it.

What makes an endorser's statement strong?

Specificity. A statement that restates your CV carries little weight. A strong one covers six things: how the endorser knows you and over what period, their own credentials for judging work in your field, which achievements they can personally verify, why those achievements are significant relative to normal practice, confirmation of their independence, and confirmation that they received no payment for writing it. The application page includes a worked example.

Do I pay the assessment fee again if I apply in a future cycle?

Yes. Each application is a fresh review by a newly constituted panel, and the $199 fee funds that review time. The single reconsideration of an existing decision is the exception — that is heard by a new panel at a 50% discounted fee of $99.

Can I withdraw or pause my application?

You can withdraw at any point before a determination is issued by writing to support@theaiite.org. If you need to correct information after paying but before review, contact us rather than starting again.

Is my application public?

No. Your evidence, your biography, and your endorsers' statements go only to the Panel assigned to your review, and reviewers are bound to confidentiality. If you are approved and AIITE features your name and a professional biography on the Site, you confirm that content before it is published.

What happens once Fellowship is conferred?

You are notified in writing that the Panel has approved your application. Conferral — your certificate and use of the FAIITE post-nominal — completes automatically once the determination is recorded, with no separate step required from you. You may then stand for Council chair roles and take part in the annual Fellows forum.

Can Fellowship be taken away?

Yes. It may be suspended or revoked for a breach of the Code of Conduct, following written notice, a hearing, and a right of appeal — except where Fellowship was obtained through material misrepresentation, which the Panel may revoke immediately on a finding.

How do you keep the standard consistent between cycles?

The seven categories and the qualifying and insufficient examples under each are published rather than held internally, every determination is recorded with reasons referencing those categories, and panels rotate so no standing group sets the bar by habit. Aggregate acceptance figures will be published from the first completed cycle onward, whatever they show.

Review Panel Questions

Does serving on the Panel make me a Fellow?

No. Fellowship Review service and Fellowship are separate. Serving confers no eligibility, preference, or presumption of approval should you later apply, and a sitting reviewer who applies would be reviewed by a panel excluding themselves.

Can an Ambassador serve on the Panel?

Yes, provided they independently meet the reviewer qualification standard. Ambassador status itself confers no advantage in Panel selection.

How much time does it take?

Assignments arrive in review cycles rather than continuously, and volume is managed through panel rotation. Reviewers complete their evaluations within the cycle deadline.

Are reviewers paid?

No. Fellowship Review service is honorary and unpaid, and reviewers are never compensated by outcome.

Is there a cost to serve on the Panel?

No. There is no service fee to serve on the Panel.

Do reviewers receive anything for reviewing?

Your name, title and organization appear in the conferral letter of every Fellow you help confer. A reviewer certificate for each calendar quarter in which you complete at least one Fellowship review, your reviewer card, and your reference letter are part of the optional annual Reviewer Package, available for $99 once appointed.

How long is a term, and can I step down?

Reviewers are appointed for one-year terms. You may resign at any time by writing to the Institute; we ask that you complete any review already assigned to you, or tell us promptly so it can be reassigned within the cycle.

How are reviewers selected?

On recognized standing in a relevant technical discipline and on prior experience evaluating the work of others — peer review, editorial or program committees, competition judging, standards bodies, hiring panels, or academic assessment. Appointment is by the Institute's officers. Panel selection is separate from Fellowship, and neither confers the other.

What happens if I know an applicant?

You disclose it and recuse yourself from that review. This applies to employment, collaboration, supervision, close personal relationships, and any commercial interest. Disclosure and recusal are mandatory rather than discretionary, and they are recorded — a recusal is a normal part of a working panel, not a mark against you.

Can one employer hold several seats?

Reviewers may come from anywhere, but no panel may be constituted such that a single employer or organization holds a majority of its seats. The cap is written into the Bylaws so that no one organization can shape a determination through composition alone.

What am I asked to produce for each review?

An independent assessment of the four categories the applicant claimed, plus an Overall Fellowship judgment worth twice a category score, and reasons for your conclusion referencing those categories. Reasons are recorded with the determination and retained by the Institute. Reviews arrive in cycles rather than continuously, with a stated deadline.

Do reviewers see each other's assessments?

No, not at any point. Each reviewer scores the four categories the applicant claimed, plus an Overall Fellowship judgment, independently, and recommendations are never reconciled into a group position afterward either — there is no deliberation stage. Fellowship is conferred once at least three of the five reviewers independently recommend approval.

What if I disagree with the rest of the panel?

Score it as you see it. Reviewers do not deliberate or negotiate a shared position — each recommendation is submitted independently, and conferral needs at least three of the five, so a minority position is a real, recorded outcome rather than a formality. The tally is disclosed to a conferred applicant, who will see that the decision was 3–2 rather than unanimous. Record your reasoning either way; it is retained with the file.

Can the Institute overturn a determination?

No. The Institute prepares files, convenes panels, distributes evidence, and records outcomes. It holds no vote in any determination and cannot reverse one. Its role ends at administration — that is the whole point of constituting the Panel separately.

Will my name be published?

Yes. Reviewers serve on the record, and the roster — names, credentials, and biographies — is published before a review cycle opens, so applicants know who may assess their work before deciding whether to apply.

Is there guidance or a rubric?

Each application arrives with a written brief and the published evidence categories, including the qualifying and generally-insufficient examples under each. Those examples are public on the Fellowship page, so applicants and reviewers are working from the same document rather than from a private internal standard.

Do I need to be a Fellow of AIITE or another body?

No. Fellowship Review service has no membership prerequisite of any kind. What is required is recognized expertise in your category and demonstrable experience assessing others' work. A sitting reviewer who later applies for Fellowship would be reviewed by a panel excluding themselves.

What happens after I submit the interest form?

AIITE verifies your professional standing and reviewing experience and checks for conflicts with active applicants, typically within 1-2 weeks. Successful candidates are then appointed to the published roster and begin receiving assignments with the next cohort.

Training & Certificate Questions

Who can access the AIITE Certificate Program?

AIITE Ambassadors, Fellows, and Review Panelists. There is no additional fee to use the Certificate Program beyond your existing membership or appointment.

Is an AIITE Certificate a professional certification or an independent exam?

No. AIITE Certificates are issued after verifying the documentation you submit showing completion of listed third-party courses. AIITE does not administer its own examination, practical assessment, or capstone for this credential, and it is not a degree, license, professional certification, or guarantee of competency, employment, or immigration outcome.

What exactly do I earn for completing one track?

A Certificate of Completion in that specific track (for example, "Certificate of Completion in Machine Learning Foundations"). The broader practitioner designation for an area, such as "AIITE Certified AI Practitioner," is given only once every track in that area's Learning Path is completed and verified.

What do the course links actually cost?

AIITE curates third-party learning resources that can be accessed at no cost for learning and auditing. Graded assignments, completion records, or provider certificates may involve additional fees charged by the provider, not AIITE, and availability and pricing may change at any time — always check a course's current terms before enrolling.

How do I submit proof of completion?

Sign in at My Training, open the track you completed, and upload a screenshot or similar record of each course's completion. AIITE verifies what you submit before issuing the certificate.

What if my submission is rejected?

AIITE may reject documentation that is incomplete, inconsistent, or does not evidence completion of the required courses. You can fix the noted issue and resubmit. Misrepresentation or fraudulent documentation is grounds for declining or revoking a Certificate.

Do I need to complete every course in a track, or just a Specialization's own certificate?

Every course listed in the track. Where a listed item is a multi-course Specialization or Professional Certificate, the course note says so — complete every course within it to earn that Specialization's own certificate, which counts as completing that item in the track.

Is AIITE affiliated with the course providers?

No, unless a track page expressly states otherwise. AIITE independently curates these learning resources and is not sponsored by or endorsed by the listed providers. A provider's own certificate and an AIITE Certificate are separate awards.

What's the difference between an AIITE Certificate and a provider's own certificate (for example, Coursera)?

Cost. AIITE Certificates are free for Ambassadors, Fellows, and Review Panelists, while many providers only issue their own certificate or graded-assignment credit to paying students — even when the course itself can be audited for free. AIITE recognizes and issues a certificate for verified course completion, audited or paid, at no cost as part of your membership.

Can I use an AIITE Certificate professionally?

Yes, referenced accurately, including the credential name and reference number shown on it. You may not state or imply it is a degree, a government license, or a credential issued or endorsed by a third-party course provider.

What happens to the screenshots I submit?

They are retained for as long as reasonably necessary to issue, verify, and audit the associated Certificate. See the Privacy Policy and the Certificate Program terms for details.

A course link is broken or a provider changed its course — what do I do?

Email support@theaiite.org with the track and course name. Course availability is controlled by third-party providers, not AIITE, and listings are updated as changes are confirmed.